Time to get a Big Kid job

I found out today (for reasons I do not wish to tell the public) I will be leaving California soon. Which means I will be free to explore the job world. I can go wherever I want to go and apply to my dream job, finally! My first thought was back to Africa and my second thought was back to Hawaii, but when I think about it, why does it have to be somewhere I have already gone. My options are unlimited, I just have to research what all is out there. I really would love to find work in the plains of wild Africa, but that type of work is really hard to find. I just signed up for Unity College’s alumni career services and they are going to start sending me emails about jobs that fit my career goals and interests. One of my professors signed me up to a website that sends me any job or internship posting for marine mammals. She knew I loved marine mammals and when I graduated she signed me up. (Just one of the perks of Unity College, the professors are so great.) 

ImageMy time at the vet has taught me a lot, I’ve been there for 5 months now and have really learned a lot, but I am very ready to put it behind me. It’s just not the job for me. I love talking to the clients and seeing all the puppies and kittens. All the sick animals, deaths, and sad owners are really taking a tole on me. My heart is too big for a job like that. It gave me good job experience though so that is good.

I will have a lot more time on my hands now and will keep you posted on my upcoming new and exciting life. I can not wait for my dream job to come true. For once I will be doing something I love in a place that I love and I won’t have to leave it. Internships are amazing, but they all have to come to an end. A job is yours. I really am in the real world now and I can not wait so start experiencing it! 

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Julie W. on October 1, 2013 at 10:01 pm

    Hi Olivia! I have to admit I want to do what you are doing! Im a junior in highschool and I really look up to you! I`m sorry to bother you, but I just have a quick question, for obtaining your degree were the classes really excessive? I`m not amazing at math or science, so I`m honestly really concerned if I will become overwhelmed. Would you say the field studies make up for it? Thank you so much, and I really hope you find that dream job in Africa! Good luck <3

    Reply

    • Hi Julie!
      you could never bother me, my blog is up for questions to be asked! The classes at Unity for my major are not that excessive. You need to take a basic math credit like algebra and trig and statistics. Both are really easy and fun actually at Unity. The professors do well at relating them to animals. You do take a lot of science classes but you will be fine. Unity has a center in the library designed for tutoring and you can always go there for help in any subject. But yes the field and lab work totally make up for it. The classes can be long and hard at times but when its time for your lab you go to to all kinds of fun places. I have lots of posts about them check them out :) hope this helps.

      Olivia

      Reply

  2. Hi Olivia!
    I am really excited to find your blog- I just recently discovered Unity College and am desperate to attend after I graduate HS! Up until this last month, I actually didn’t think I would be going to college straight out of High School (if ever), so I have been a bit worried about my transcript for my first two years of HS. I was wondering if you could tell me what your HS grades and courseload was like?

    Thanks!

    Reply

    • Hello! I am so sorry for the late response. I hope it’s not too late. The course load at Unity is not too hard, especially at first. It allows you to get a feel for the college life before they load you up on work. To be honest your first semester there will feel like a summer camp (with snow), not a school. I did pretty well in high school, but I know a lot of people who attend Unity who have very different stories. Unity is very accepting of all types of transcripts just fill up your resume with extracurriculars and as long as you have decent grades in science your last couple years you’ll be just fine getting in. If you have any thee questions I promise to answer right away
      Olivia 😊

      Reply

      • Posted by A on April 11, 2014 at 3:38 am

        Thank you for your response! I got an A in biology when I took it, and I currently have an A in Chemistry… and a 4.0 overall so far this year. Extracurriculars have been a bit hard to come by due to my location, but I am working on that! Thank you so much for your response! :)

      • Great! You’ll have no problem getting into Unity. And as for extracurricular Unity will help you out with that and build you a great resume!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,071 other followers

