Details on my new Vet Life

So I’ve been working at the Vet Hospital for almost two months now and it has turned out to be quite the experience. I do know that I do not ever want anything to do with animal medicine or veterinary aspects. However, my job entails something completely different for the most part. I am the person up front that actually gets to interact with the people and animals who come in. I am the one who they really get to know and I love that part of it. I get to check them in, talk with them in the room and then again when they check out. I do not want to be the one who comes in and has to diagnose what is wrong with them. It is definitely taking a tole on me seeing so many sick and dying animals, but I also get to see and play with a lot of really cute puppies and kittens! The other day we had three 8 week old Siberian huskys come in and I was the one who got to check them into a room and play with them until the doctor came in. I’m glad this is only a temporary job while I am here in California, but I really do love what I am doing and am getting quite good at it, if I do say so myself. It’ll be great work experience on my resume and I am learning a lot about making up medications and the details that go into ensuring that the animals are healthy and safe. I thought at first that I would want to make my way up to be a veterinary technician  but now I can safely say that I am completely happy staying up front as a receptionist and occasionally assisting the doctors like I’m doing now. If anyone wants to check out where I work they have a facebook page and the link is: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Melrose-Veterinary-Hospital/227544113923480?fref=ts

Also, I am going back up to Maine for graduation in 3 weeks and I am so excited! I’ll be staying in my old house with my roommate who still lives there. I miss her so much and am so excited to see her. My mom and dad are also coming up so that will be really awesome having them there. My mom hasn’t been up since the day she dropped me off freshman year so it’ll be really cool showing her around and having her meet everyone. I am also very much looking forward to going out to dinner and getting some much needed Maine lobstahh! 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,071 other followers

