My Move Across the Country

If anyone is still out there, I’m writing to say I am still in fact alive. My time at Unity has come to an end and I have moved to San Diego, California. I got here a couple weeks ago and I absolutely love it. My plans at Unity drastically changed when I failed to pass my Praxis 2 teaching test. It was much harder than I expected and I missed it by only 2 points. However, my teaching career doesn’t end here, I still plan to get my teaching certificate one day, just in a different way. I will graduate from Unity in May with my Captive Wildlife Care and Education degree and when I do finally pass my Praxis 2 test I will be allowed to student teach and receive my teaching degree and be a qualified teacher.

2013-02-09_16-22-59_226Okay so why California? Well if I havn’t mentioned before, I started dating my best friend a little over six months ago. He went to Unity with me my freshman year, but then left and joined the Marine Corps. We stayed in touch and he flew me out to see him just before I went to Hawaii and   he stole my heart. He is stationed out here in San Diego and that is why I found my way out here. I will be back in Unity for graduation in May and am very excited for that. It’s so weird not being there. Leaving my roommate was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do, but it was time for me to move on and step into the real world.

So far out here I have had an interview at Sea World and I have an interview at the San Diego Zoo and Safari Park tomorrow. For Sea World, I had to do a microphone test before my actual interview. They had me create a three minute speech about tide pools and actual perform it with a microphone in front of their tide pools in the park. It was nerve racking, but nothing I haven’t done before. I think I did pretty well and my interview went smoothly as well. I’m still waiting to hear back from them though. The job is for an education position, but it would be the first step to getting back to marine mammal training. The job I’m interviewing for at the Zoo is for a tour guide position. I have a lot of experience in giving tours thanks to Unity College Admissions so I should be all set for the interview! It’s all so overwhelming, but I’m so ready to get my first real “big kid job!”

So keep on reading and I’ll be writing soon about this exciting next chapter of my life!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,071 other followers

